Skip to content

TreadLightlyAI

AI Transparency Card

Last updated 2026-10-28

Models

Green4

Certified renewable electricityFree, Starter, and Builder plans

Conventional2

Energy source not disclosedAdvanced plan only

Inference
HostGreen Model
InfomaniakGreen DocsBGE Multilingual Gemma 2 9B
InfomaniakGreen TinyGemma 4 31B Instruct, capped output
InfomaniakGreen SmallGemma 4 31B Instruct
GreenPTGreen LargeGPT-OSS 120B
HostConventional Model
UndisclosedClaude Haiku 5.5
UndisclosedClaude Sonnet 5.5
Training

Inference is only part of the overall footprint. Training is a significant cost too. We have found no primary source for how any of these creators powered training, and we are not aware of any large model trained on renewable electricity.

CreatorEnergy
Google DeepMindUnknown
OpenAIUnknown
AnthropicUnknown

Compromises we make

Most energy numbers are estimates

Only one model reports its own energy use: Green Large. Until August 2026 the default model reported it too. It now runs on Infomaniak, which reports none, so most of what you see is a token-based estimate.

We made that trade knowingly. Infomaniak has the strongest environmental record of any host we use, and the model it serves passes our safety bar. Neither of those turns an estimate into a measurement, so we label every estimate and say which is which.

Anthropic infrastructure

Two Claude models are available on Advanced. Anthropic has not published where Claude runs or how that electricity is sourced.

Use of Claude Code

Sonnet, Opus, and Fable assist development.

Environmental

Water Use
InfomaniakGeneva D4, CHNo added water for cooling, per Infomaniak
  • A sealed water loop and heat pumps carry the servers' heat into Geneva's district heating.
  • No water usage effectiveness (WUE) figure is published for D4.
GreenPTGreen LargeNot disclosed
AnthropicClaudeNot disclosed
Energy Methodology
Reported by the provider
Green Large: 115 µWh per token, reported by GreenPT
Estimated by us
Green Tiny and Green Small: ~108 µWh per token
Claude Haiku 5.5: ~78 µWh per token
Claude Sonnet 5.5: ~240 µWh per token
Green Docs: ~60 µWh per token. It prepares documents you upload for search; this is our roughest estimate.
Overhead
Estimates include 20% for cooling, networking, and storage.
Units
A µWh is a millionth of a watt-hour. Tokens count what you send and what comes back. 1,000 tokens on Green Small is about 0.1 Wh.
In the app, estimates show a ~.
Data Center Electricity

Each label comes from the provider's own published statements, linked in the row. We have checked none of it ourselves. Last checked 2026-10-28.

InfomaniakGeneva D4, CHCertified renewable supply, matched for the year (6% own solar)Also buys offsets, through myclimate projects (Infomaniak).
  • Supply: hydro and solar, certified naturemade star and TÜV SÜD EE01, through Geneva's utility, SIG (2024).
  • PUE (power usage effectiveness): 1.085 across all Infomaniak sites (2024).
  • Heat reuse: D4 sends its heat into Geneva's district heating. Energy reuse factor 1.00 on d4project.org, read 2026-10-28.
GreenPTGreen LargeCertified renewable electricity, per GreenPT; data center not named
Cloudflare R2WNAMRenewable certificates bought separately, matched for the yearAlso buys offsets.
  • Its auditor reviewed the emissions figures, not the certificate purchases (2024).
AnthropicClaudeEnergy source not disclosed

What each label means: energy terms.

Web Sustainability
B
We check against
The W3C Web Sustainability Guidelines, on every public page.
Tool
wsg-check
Last checked 2026-10-31.

Ethics & Policy

Model Inclusion Standard
We exclude
Below C overall or any F on the FLI Safety Index.
Any model creator that dissolved its safety team.
A creator that fails is excluded wherever its model is hosted.
We require
At least one of: green-hosted, low energy per token, safety-leading, or open-weight.
Safety Scores
AnthropicClaudeC+First of nine.
OpenAIGPT-OSS (Green Large)CSecond of nine.
Google DeepMindGemma 4 (Green Tiny, Green Small)CThird of nine. Lowest domain grade is D, in existential safety.

Grades from the Future of Life Institute (FLI) AI Safety Index, Summer 2026.

Commitments

10% of all revenue to the Future of Life Institute, disbursed every six months

1.5% of revenue to carbon removal via Stripe Climate’s partner Frontier

Your conversations are used only to answer you. Never sold, never used for ads or AI training.